The Ramblings of Annie Abalam

Just another WordPress.com site

Weekly Food Log

on February 17, 2012

This week’s classes have thrown me for a loop.  While I do not always eat organic, I try my best to maintain an organic mini-fridge while at school.  The articles and excerpts we have looked at this week have left me so confused.  For the past six years, I have been in love with the organic movement.  After taking in this week’s offerings, I feel like my dream has been… debunked.

The beauty of organic food for me was that there was no mystery associated to it.  I assumed that all fruits and vegetables I bought had not been touched by pesticides, and the farmer who grew the food had at most an acre of land, allowing him to sing to his crops.  Unfortunately, this is not true.  I thought the only case of industrial organic farming was Horizon Organic, who appear to be quite honest with their customers about their large scale farming.  The readings this week suggest that Horizon Organic is far from the only guilty party when it comes to industrializing an industry whose claim to fame is small-scale farming.  So, where my allegedly pure fruits and vegetables come from seems like much more of a mystery than I could have ever imagined.  The whole thing has left me rather confused.

Fortunately, the solution presented seems like the best idea in the first place: know my supplier.  Blindly purchasing produce from packages in a grocery store is clearly not the answer if I have a vested interest in knowing my food’s origins.  I suppose buying local is my only option, and that is fine with me.  If only we could get SU to adopt the same ideology…

Leave a Reply

